Hello Out There!

Starting this blog has been on the back burner for way too long. Previously, I kept a blog and absolutely loved it. Along with the title, Twenty-Something-Oklahoma, it just didn’t seem fitting as we started our journey as parents. We had a lot of fun the first 7 years of our marriage traveling, hanging out with friends and just, well, doing whatever the heck we wanted to do.

Now, our life is centered around our little girl, Rebekah. Of course I have become just like every other parent who thinks they have the best kid in the world.

Here’s the story behind our little Angel.

Since getting married Jeremy & I knew we wanted to adopt. We thought we would have biological children and adopt eventually. After visiting my brother/sister-in-law and niece in South Africa, our hearts were set on adopting from Africa. After not conceiving right away, we decided to go ahead and start the process of adopting, as it can be a very long journey. After about a month of research, we selected our agency and country, Ethiopia.

When you adopt internationally, you use two agencies. One handles the international aspects and the other, a local agency, handles your home study. We filled out both applications. The local/home study application was approximately 50 pages (front and back – a little “Friends” reference for ya!) asking EVERYTHING you could ever imagine about your life and every relationship in your life.

We finally finished filling out both applications and the next day Jeremy left for Chicago. I took all the paperwork to work to copy and mail. After arriving at work, I realized I had left our tax records at home which was needed for the local agency. I mailed the international application and had to wait until the next day to mail the rest.

At a meeting that afternoon, I felt this overwhelming feeling of exhaustion. An exhaustion I have never, ever felt before in my life. I thought I could have fallen asleep sitting up. And it clicked that evening that something was “off.”

That’s the night I found out I was carrying Rebekah. I couldn’t keep it to myself so I had to tell Jeremy on the phone. We were thrilled and immediately called the international agency and said – DO NOT CASH OUR CHECK!! International adoption is not cheap!

So, here we are today with our sweet little girl. Obviously, we are thrilled to have her and excited to know that adoption will eventually happen.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy Watson
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 22:04:20

    Yay! Welcome back to blog land. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 10:09:25

    Love the blog name. Too cute!!!

    Reply

  3. canaan
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 19:39:52

    Thanks Sarah & Amy – we are just soooo WILD, ya know!?!

    Reply

  4. Laura Provence
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 11:38:02

    I just want to know if the adoption papers were single-spaced, too?! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

