In 19 months I’ve learned –

Rebekah turned 19 months old yesterday. Pre-children I didn’t get the whole age in months thing. I do now. Each month is so different and full of development and growth. For both parent and child.

Being a first time mom I learn something new everyday. Some days this is good and some days it’s overwhelming. In the last 19 months, here is a snipit of what I have learned:

– The feeling of the most simple and pure love you could ever imagine. It’s just there. It’s huge. It’s real. It’s simple. It’s pure. It’s peaceful.

– Parents, as a whole, have no idea what the hell they are doing. Most likely, my parents didn’t know what the hell they were doing. As a kid you think your parents know it all. Once you become a parent you realize they were just wingin’ it. And so are you. You are in a constant state of questioning every decision you  make. If other parents don’t feel this way then I don’t wanna know it. I find comfort thinking everyone else feels the same way. Don’t burst my bubble.

– You become somewhat bi-polar. You can go from pure frustration to complete bliss and joy in a matter of seconds.

– Your day to day life with this child is shaping and molding their personality and character. They are in the midst of their childhood. When they grow up and reflect on their own issues, by themselves or with a therapist, it usually traces back to childhood. No pressure parents.

This is just the tip of the iceberg and I know there is so much more to learn. Here we go…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 21:55:21

    I totally agree! I have no clue what I’m doing 🙂

    Reply

  2. SarahWoods
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 10:56:15

    Ilove this one-I totally don’t get the age in months thing! Thanks for explaining it, friend. I love you and I love reading about your life 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

