Monday = Food Day

Nutdanai Apikhomboonwaroot / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I love reading “Menu Planning Mondays” on other people’s blogs to get ideas on new recipes I am joining the club. At the Rice house Monday is grocery shopping and food prep day. I have learned this has to be a top priority or else I will be scrambling for 3 meals a day and turn to eating out, where I don’t make the healthiest choices.

On Sunday night I make our menu and grocery list. I make a meal plan that includes breakfast, lunch and dinner. I don’t think there has ever been a week where I stuck to this 100%. It’s hard to plan out what you are going to want to eat/have time for in advance for breakfast and lunch every single day. But, by doing this it prevents me from over buying.

On Monday morning Rebekah and I go to the grocery store and while she naps I prep veggies for salads along with random stuff that can be done ahead of time for our dinners. When I was working full time I did the same routine, but had to shop and prep on Sunday instead.

Lately, I’ve been trying to find and cook more meatless entrees. There are a lot of reasons for this, but the most important is that it increases the vegetables and beans in our diet. I have had a weird relationship with meat for a long time. It is quirky and completely illogical. Steaks gross me out because they are a big slab of meat, but I love fast food hamburgers. I know, ridiculously hypocritical.

Here’s our plan for this week –

MondayLo Mein Primavera (I don’t use tofu, the pasta and veggies are plenty)

Tuesday – Homemade Pizza (I get whole wheat pizza crust at target and slice through it to make it thin crust, and we throw on whatever veggies we have along with pizza sauce and cheese of course!)

WednesdayMexican Pasta I add or take away items based on what is in our fridge and pantry

Thursday – Leftovers

Breakfast – Either oatmeal with walnuts or English muffin with peanut butter and honey. I am really trying to make myself eat oatmeal because it’s so good for you, but it never sounds appetizing to me.

Lunch – Quinoa salad or veggie corndogs

Leave a Reply

