40 by 40

This is not an original idea. I first saw it quite a while ago on this blog and then more recently here.

I am a goal oriented person. I don’t always reach my goals, but I like planning and that’s what goals are: planning for the future and shaping the future you want. One of my biggest fears is to wake up in 30 years thinking, WHAT HAVE I BEEN DOING? Here’s my list: now I’m accountable.

1)      Get involved with a charity (Women for Women, Parkinson’s or low income teens in Tulsa)

2)      Run the NYC Marathon

3)      Rock Climb

4)      Get Lasik

5)      Go Vegan for 1 week

6)      Finish ALL scrapbooks

7)      Go back to Africa & Sand Surf

8)      Stop drinking pop daily

9)      Take a photography Class

10)   Plant a garden

11)   Start composting

12)   Learn photo editing

13)   Paint 2 canvases for house

14)   Learn to sew…even if it’s just a button

15)   Start a gratitude journal…daily

16)   Compete in a triathlon

17)   Grow herbs

18)   Have indoor plants

19)   Spa day with my mom

20)   Scan all photos onto a hard drive and back up hard drive and get rid of paper old photos

21)   Canangeran Relay Marathon

22)   Create a Family Photo Wall

23)   Have a progressive dinner with friends

24)   International trip with Jeremy (Mexico and Canada DO NOT count!)

25)   KKG T-shirt Quilt

26)   Frame favorite quotes and put in vanity

27)   Learn to can…at least tomatoes

28)   Finish furnishing living room & entry

29)   Furnish Bedroom

30)   Invisalign

31)   Go ice-climbing with Jeremy

32)   Try a nutritional detox

33)   Attend a meditation or yoga retreat

34)   Go back to The Royal in Playa del Carmen with Jeremy

35)   Create a collage of Rebekah’s first year

36)   Find and join a church

37)   Adopt a child from Africa

38)   Go to the Final Four with Jeremy (preferably to see OSU)

39)   Explore becoming a yoga instructor

40)   Take a professional organizing course

Do you have a list like this? It might be my OCD list making tendencies…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy :)
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 08:12:44

    I love this idea! And I love your list–you have some GREAT things on there. Now I want to do one. I think I will. This week. 🙂 Thanks for the idea.

    Reply

  2. Laura Provence
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 11:54:02

    I love that so much of my list is the same as yours!! Let’s go take that sewing class. I knew how to thread the needle on my machine, now. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Candice Chinsethagid
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 17:04:34

    I’ll take a photo class with you!!! I think we may have discussed this before?!?!!?

    Oh, and here’s a start on #36 and possibly #37…..come to church with me sometime, I think you’ll really like it and we have an adopted ministry (you don’t have to be a member of our church to be involved) and have had several families adopt from Africa recently. In fact, our pastor just returned from Ethiopia where he is finalizing an adooption of Lem Lem – the dang cutest girl ever!!!

    Reply

  4. Julita
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 09:53:35

    Love the list! and I can totally help you with 14 and 25. I made Jeremy a quilt out of his old football shirts. Sounds like Candice and I go to the same Church. You can check it out here: http://www.tcabc.com

    Not sure exactly what this Sunday will be like because we are having a special adoption presentation.

    Reply

  5. canaan
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 12:21:47

    @ Amy – I knew the “list” aspect would getcha!
    @ Laura – so not surprised!!
    @ Candice & Julita – I will have to go online and check out your church. We have visited one a couples times that we like and are taking their “101” class next month so we’ll see. Candice – we totally have! I want to get an SLR camera and then take a class. Do you have an SLR? Julita – so, you can teach me to sew AND help complete the quilt. You are the right girl to know!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

