Food Monday – Easy Schmeasy

Happy Monday, or Food day at the Rice’s. I have to admit that my favorite part of Monday is when Rebekah goes down for her nap and I work in the kitchen with a taped show (okay, okay – Real Housewives) playing in the background. Real housewives is my guilty pleasure and I would apologize for it, but I think it’s too awesome to apologize for.

What we’re servin’ up this week –

Monday – Crockpot Chicken Tacos *see recipe below

Tuesday – Going out for our 8 year anniversary – yay!!

Wednesday – Stir Fry *see recipe below

Thursday – Homemade Pizzas

Friday – Eat out or leftovers

Crockpot Chicken Tacos

This recipe is so easy and affordable and one of my number one go to dinners. It’s so simple and there are no amounts because you just adjust to how much/little you want:

  • Chicken Breast (as many as you want and will fit in crockpot)
  • Chicken Broth
  • Taco Seasoning
  • Whatever taco “fixins” you like

Place chicken in crockpot and pour broth to cover (about an inch or so) and pour in a packet of taco seasoning. (For 4 regular size chicken breasts, I use 1/2 packet of seasoning)

Cook on low for 4 – 6 hours

Chicken will shred easily.

I usually use the leftover chicken for quesadillas which is yummy too!

Stir Fry

This is probably easier than the chicken. It seriously takes less than 10 minutes to make.

  • Bag frozen stir fry veggies of your choice
  • 1 tbsp Thai Peanut Sauce
  • Sesame Oil
  • 1 tbsp Soy Sauce
  • Olive or Canola Oil

Heat skillet on medium high with olive oil

Toss in Veggies (they can still be frozen)

Add peanut sauce & soy sauce. I just eyeball the amounts. The peanut sauce is spicy to me, but I’m a wimp. If you like spice add some more.

When veggies are cooked, sprinkle sesame oil and cook for another minute or so. (I didn’t put an amount because I just shake it over the veggies and haven’t ever measured before.)

Ta – Da! You’re done. I usually serve over rice. Sometimes I cook it old school, and sometimes I cook it in a 90 second bag in the microwave. Depends on how Martha Stewart I’m feeling that week!

(Also check out Organizing Junkie for great menu planning tips and recipes!)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy :)
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 15:52:42

    Um, yes I do believe I’ll have to try that crock pot chicken recipe. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Candice Chinsethagid
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 16:55:50

    Love it!! I do a similar chicken one but instead of chicken broth, I just use a jar of salsa (Tostitos Restaurant Style) it’s lower in sodium and produces just as moist chicken! It’s YUMMMMY!!!

    Reply

  3. Laura Provence
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 10:08:43

    I love your recipes! Keep ’em comin’!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

