Dirty Little Secrets

No, I’m not talking about the secrets you tell when you play “I’ve Never.” I’m talking about dirty little mommy secrets. While pregnant, you have these ideas set in your head about what you will do as a parent and that your way will be right. About a week in, that little bundle of joy slaps you in the face and you throw all those judgments out the door and the one and only goal is survival. Still, you think, once I get through newborn phase I will stick to my guns. The next thing you know they are toddlers and you realize you have your own dirty little mommy secret…or two…or three…or not countable. The funny thing is, it’s still survival.

Being a mom is the most amazing and rewarding experience I have ever had. It’s also REALLY HARD. It’s a difficulty that is incomprehensible until you are in the situation. I’ve always prided myself on my non-judgmental attitude and outlook and motherhood has open my mind in ways I could never imagine.

So, here it goes. I’m putting it out there. I’m revealing my biggest dirty little secret as a mom. Rebekah is nearly 20 months old and….I’m so nervous…still takes a bottle. Ahhh, there I said it. She takes a bottle (sometimes two) Now, as any woman would, I must defend myself. She only takes them at night. And, yes, we brush her teeth afterward. My doctor is not in agreement with this situation. It’s the first time I have deliberately gone against my pediatrician’s orders.

At the beginning I took my doctor’s word as gold and did exactly as told. I didn’t know what the hell I was doing and he had a lot more experience than me. As time has passed, I feel like I know my daughter and my family and I know what I can “cheat” on and what I can’t. It’s actually a nice feeling to be able to  weigh my options and choose what’s easiest best for us. At the same time, I still feel guilty about it!!

Please, oh please, tell me your secrets so I can rest easy.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 22:56:04

    James is sleeping right next to me in bed. My bed. Yep. I said it. My 20 month old sleeps with me. We like it.

    Reply

  2. canaan
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 22:58:48

    LOL, THANK YOU Amanda!! I literally laughed out loud picturing him in bed with you while you typed that.

    Reply

  3. Kelly Brown
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 23:33:52

    Ford, who turns 2 on Wednesday, still sleeps with a pacifier. Yes, I said a pacifier. He knows the rule though ~ paci must stay in the crib. Before I pick him up in the morning we both say, “Paci on pillow”. My thought is that he won’t go to college sleeping with a paci so when he’s finsihed we’ll stop. I’m sure Rebekah won’t take a bottle before going to bed in the KKG house either. They are only little for a short time! ENJOY! With an almost 2 and 3 1/2 year old, I can say I kinda miss bottles!

    Reply

  4. Raivan Talley
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 08:24:43

    My oldest son Rowan used a pacifier until he was 4 1/2. It took until he started pre-k to really use “the other kids in the class don’t use pacifiers” logic. But on the flip side he set it down on his bookshelf and never picked it up again. He wouldn’t let me take it off the bookshelf either. I guess just seeing it was some kind of security blanket. About two months later he let me throw it away.

    Reply

  5. Nicole
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 20:39:34

    haha! I’m right behind you! Stella is still on a night bottle. I don’t see any reason to quit….yet. I know tons of people who think a baby should have one until 2.

    Reply

  6. Sweet Yet Sassy
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 10:38:08

    Gasp. I wasn’t looking in the right spot all this time to comment. 😀 Idiot!

    People breastfeed that long. My cousin tried to get her 3 child to stop before 2 years old but he only had to make the sign for milk and her milk would come back in so she let him continue. One day after she fed him he literally wiped his mouth and said, “Thanks mom!” and walked away. None of the other 3 even wanted to breastfeed after a year. She didn’t want to let that precious time go but he stopped soon after that incident. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

