Update: 40 by 40

I’m excited that I actually do have 4 updates on my 40 by 40. I think making this list public is making me accountable! Here’s the latest:

1)  Get involved with a charity (Women for Women, Parkinson’s or low income teens in Tulsa) – I have actually taken steps to get involved with two different charities.

One is a charity that I discovered after reading Nicholas Kristof’s, Half the Sky. I highly recommend this book. It’s a tough read, but introduces you to a world that you can’t turn your back on after learning about. Women for Women International is a charity that provides micro-financing to women in war torn countries with a donation of only $27/month. The wonderful thing about this program is that you are matched up with a “sister” who is directly receiving the benefit of your donations. They help her learn to build a business, anything from farming to making jewelry, and establish herself as a knowledgeable and independent woman. I’m currently waiting to be matched with my sister.

The second is a local organization called Youth at Heart. They provide activities after school and during the summer for children who live in low-income and government assisted living. These children wouldn’t be able to participate in activities without this group. Can you imagine a childhood where you couldn’t participate in things like soccer, camp or dance? I’m so grateful that my family was able to provide this for me, and to think of a child who won’t be exposed to things like this is tragic. I’ve met with them and I think I will be helping with a golf tournament in July and once the school year gets started again spend time with some of the kiddos.

13)   Paint 2 canvases for house – I just finished painting the trim of the canvases black (to avoid framing) and am curious to see what happens. We might have another Angry Tree painting on our hands. Angry Tree deserves a post to itself.

22)   Create a Family Photo Wall – My mom recently purchased a new coffee table. When we unpacked it, it was sitting on this piece of wood and we both thought, hm, something cute could be done to that. So, here’s the piece of wood after some sanding and gray spray paint.

I’m a little torn if I want to use it to put simple glass frames in with pictures of our parents and grandparents or if I want to turn it into an organizing station like the Daily System at Pottery Barn. Yeah, I said organization and station so I’m sure that’s where this one will end up. Not sure yet.

26)   Frame favorite quotes and put in vanity – Done, check! Okay, this is probably the smallest item on the list, but it’s still complete. Below is a pic and the quotes I chose. (I obviously really like Maya Angelou quotes!)

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

~ Maya Angelou

 “If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude. Don’t complain.” ~ Maya Angelou

“I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it.” ~ Maya Angelou

“You alone are enough. You have nothing to prove to anybody.” ~ Maya Angelou

“When you learn, teach, when you get, give.” ~ Maya Angelou

“We need much less than we think we need.” ~ Maya Angelou

 “Make the most of yourself, for that is all there is of you” ~ Emerson

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura P.
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 21:31:39

    Congratulations on the progress! I’m working on building my 40 by 40 list. You have inspired me. So fun!!

    Reply

  2. Candice
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 09:28:45

    Love the quotes!! I’m stealing one of them now!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

